Joelyn's Book Bites

Book Bites: Hong Kong 2015 – Our Book Trail

Book BitseIf there’s one thing I realized about myself over my last almost-three decades, my travels have often brought me to two common places – museums, galleries, or bookstores. Food is usually a given, but anything out of that usually falls into those three areas.

Hong Kong was no exception.

Travelling with my bestie and fellow book-lover Val, we explored a few places we thought were worth mentioning:

Page One

We came here on Day 2, before lunch, so that we could return to Disneyland to utilize our 2nd Day pass.

How I have missed you, Page One!
How I have missed you, Page One!

Location: LG1-30, Festival Walk
Nearest MTR Station: Kowloon Tong station
My Damage: HKD456

To be honest, ever since Page One closed in Vivocity, I’ve always felt that Vivocity lost a bit of its life. Nonetheless, Festival Walk’s Page One was reminiscent of the Page One in Vivo, only without the natural light coming in.

Probably not as huge as the one we were used to, but their selection of books in interior design and architecture was still as broad as before. On top of the sale which was going on, I got a book on botany and landscaping for Jenevee and a cookie-shaped recipe book for Jezel.

Apart from their outlet in Festival Walk, Page One has a few outlets in the International Airport as well. To find out more, click here.

Book-a-Zine

A great accidental find!
A great accidental find!
They have more branches across Hong Kong too
They have more branches across Hong Kong too

Location: Shop 1, G/F, Oriental Crystal Commercial Building, 46 Lyndhurst Terrace, Central
Nearest MTR Station:
Central station
My Damage: HKD118

Book-a-Zine was found purely by accident. After a quick order from Tai Cheong, we walked towards the Mid-Levels escalator, only to find Book-a-Zine across the road.

It’s a little shop, reminiscent of Books Actually and the first level of Dymocks in Rundle Mall.

While a good lot of the store was stocked with non-fiction, stationery, and gifts, I managed to find a good read and my book for this trip – “Hong Kong State of Mind: 37 Essays of a City that Doesn’t Blink” by Jason Y Ng – in this place.

Book-a-Zine has a few other branches scattered across Hong Kong. For more information on them, click here.

Basheer Design Books HK

They're kinda like the TARDIS shop in the middle of cramped up buildings
They’re kinda like the TARDIS shop in the middle of cramped up buildings

Location: 1/F, Flat A, Island Building, 439-441, Hennessy Road, Causeway Bay, HK
Nearest MTR Station:
Causeway Bay station
My Damage: HKD228

Basheer was one of those shops which really made me feel like I was searching for something in a Hong Kong TV series. In order to get to Basheer, you had to locate the number of the building, walk up a flight of stairs, and then take the lift to the 1st floor, where the lift doors will open to Basheer’s entrance.

Very much like their main store in Singapore, Hong Kong’s Basheer focussed more on design, and the wide space and well-lit area was a welcome feeling in the middle of the rain we had to duck and cover from. I was incredibly happy here because I got the Zao Dao artbook the Tiger has been looking for so that was that.

Hong Kong’s branch of Basheer Graphics is located near Causeway Bay station. For more information, click here.

Eslite

THIS.
THIS.
We'll definitely be back!
We’ll definitely be back!

Location: 8/F-10/F, Hysan Place
Nearest MTR Station:
Causeway Bay station
My Damage: HKD216

THIS IS THE MOTHERLODE.

Spanning three levels of Hysan Place, Eslite offers comics, magazines, stationery, novels, craft products, lifestyle products, and non-fiction. With a café on 9/F, this place exuded café bookstore. I was thrilled.

After getting the Tiger’s request of Kylooe Vol. 3, we made our way up, where fiction occupied 9/F and stationery and lifestyle products occupied 10/F. Apart from the great selection across brands and needs, what I really loved about this bookstore was how inclusive it was.

Novels were divided by genre, regardless of their language. Therefore, it was interesting to see Hunger Games and Sherlock in English, Traditional Chinese, and Simplified Chinese side-by-side on their shelves. I ended up getting a Sherlock novel which has been missing in my collection, and a short story be Gillian Flynn (!!!).

Eslite is located at Hysan Place, Causeway Bay, and originally from Taiwan. For more information, click here.

And that was our book trail for Hong Kong! I was a little bummed we didn’t make it to Commercial Press, especially in the torrential rain. However, I was still very happy with our discoveries, especially with Eslite! I know where I’ll be going to the next time I head back!

Blanket Fortress Logo

2 thoughts on “Book Bites: Hong Kong 2015 – Our Book Trail

Leave a Reply

