Signal Boost

Signal Boost: November 2015

Signal BoostThe Singapore Writers Festival is upon us and I hope you’ve all bought your tickets and claimed your passes. While the first weekend of the fest has gone by, programmes over the week and during the coming weekend are still good enough reasons to get your passes.

(P/S – Our launch was great! Thank you to everyone who made it awesome, I’ll be blogging about that event later!)

However, I thought I’d do a list of the Top 10 Singapore Writers Festival panels / events I would go to, just to join the fun:

10: Closing Debate – This House Believes that Singaporeans are not Dreamers

Date: 8 November 2015
Time:
7:00PM – 8:30PM
Venue:
Chamber, The Arts House
Featuring:  
Adrian Tan, Gwee Li Sui, Oniatta Effendi, Shamini Flint, Vernetta Lopez, Joshua Ip, Hirzi Zulkiflie, Deborah Emmanuel
Moderated by:
Petrina Kow

It’s the tradition of the Singapore Writers’ Festival, and a great way to close the festival. This year’s debaters come from a variety of backgrounds – poetry, novels, short stories, screenplays etc… so you can be sure of an entertaining debate!

9: What is the Point of Reading Literature?

Date: 4 November 2015
Time:
7:00 – 8:00PM
Venue:
Kumon Blue Room, The Arts House
Featuring:  
Tan Tarn How, Loh Chin Ee, Suzanne Choo
Moderated by: Koh Buck Song

The constant question in our schools – what’s the point of O-Level Literature? Would it make an impact if it just… disappeared? I would really like to watch the dystopian scenario painted out by our featured artists, but unfortunately, I have a rehearsal / sound-check then.

8: International Criminal Minds

Date: 8 November 2015
Time:
11:30AM – 12:30PM
Venue:
Auditorium, National Gallery
Featuring:  
Sophie Hannah, Nils Nordberg, Fuminori Nakamura, Alice Clark-Platts
Moderated by:
Shamini Flint

Another panel I have to miss because it clashes with so many good ones! Crime and Noir writers Fuminori Nakamura, Nils Nordberg, Sophie Hannah, and Alice Clark-Platts talk about the lure of crime fiction and how their backgrounds influence their writing.

This event is brought to you with assistance of the Royal Norwegian Embassy Singapore and NORLA.

7: Crime & Misdemeanours

Date: 7 November 2015
Time:
10:00 – 11:00AM
Venue:
Auditorium, National Gallery
Featuring:  
Sophie Hannah, Nils Nordberg, Fuminori  Nakamura, Alice Clark-Platts
Moderated by:
Shamini Flint

Having to miss Number 8 means I should go for this event all the more! I’m still a mystery fan at heart, on paper, and in my writing. So it would really be interesting to see what these writers have to say about the genre.

6: It Runs in the Family

Date: 8 November 2015
Time:
1:30 – 2:30PM
Venue:
River Room, Asian Civilisations Museum
Featuring:  
Eliza Teoh, Gabby Tye, Xiaohan, Ashley Koh
Moderated by:
Kenneth Quek

After reading RunHideSeek, some of us got a little curious. And this panel might just fulfill that curiosity. Come see how families hand down their love for the literary and how each generation keeps this spark alive.

5: Where Have all the Readers Gone?

Date: 8 November 2015
Time:
2:30 – 3:30PM
Venue:
Chamber, The Arts House
Featuring:  
Jason Y Ng, Kenny Leck
Moderated by:
Kenny Chan

Yes. This.

Especially when the panel talks about the scene set in Singapore and Hong Kong – two cosmopolitan islands with populations which don’t put reading on their priority list. I’ll be going to this panel with some hope for solutions we can take as consumers and creators.

4: “Instalove” – Romance and YA

Date: 8 November 2015
Time:
4:30 – 5:30PM
Venue:
River Room, Asian Civilisations Museum
Featuring:  
Joyce Chua, Joyce Chng, Rachel Hartman
Moderated by:
Denise Tan

I’ll be very frank here, I was drawn to this panel because Young Adult is in the title, and my friend, Joyce Chng, is on the panel. I’ve only started delving into YA because it’s more fun and entertaining to write YA Mystery and YA Dystopia, so this may be something trigger more inspiration in my writing.

3: Bright Lights, Dark Cities

Date: 7 November 2015
Time:
7:00 – 8:30PM
Venue:
The Japan Foundation Play Den, The Arts House
Featuring:  
Fuminori Nakamura, Nicholas Hogg, Amir Muhammad, Troy Chin
Moderated by:
Gene Tan

Somehow, I feel like my inclination to return to mystery writing after a year of doing intense dystopian and urban fantasy fiction is calling me. I chose this for Number 3 because Fuminori Nakamura and Amir Muhammad. Also, dark secrets of cities make good social speculative fiction. LOL.

2: MAP Showcase 2014/15

Date: 4 November 2015
Time:
8:30 – 9:30PM
Venue:
Hall, Timbre Music Academy (next to The Arts House)
Featuring:  
US!! (MAP Batch 2014/15)
Moderated by:
Savinder Kaur, Chris Mooney-Singh

I know this will come off a bit self-promotion-y, but I have to put this up here. After a year or so of writing, editing, workshopping, I came out of the Mentor Access Project with a new manuscript, new friends, a good mentor, and a pet project launching in December. Come get a glimpse of what we have to give after this particular creative journey.

1: Our Independent Publishing Heroes

Date: 8 November 2015
Time:
11:30AM – 12:30PM
Venue:  
Chamber, The Arts House
Featuring:  
Amir Muhammad, Kenny Leck, Mutalib Uthman
Moderated by:
Azhar Ibrahim

I was deciding whether to place this or Bright Lights as my number one pick for this coming weekend, but eventually, this panel tugs at me more. Professionally, it’s good to know, what with small presses coming out and serving as a means to get new writers with specific styles into the market. Personally, I wouldn’t be where I am now, or at least, wouldn’t have that inkling of improvement I have now if not for people like Kenny and Amir. If they gave me the chance then, who am I to not give this panel one too?

So that’s my Top 10 pick for the Singapore Writers’ Festival this year! Also, just as an aside, if you like Sherlock Holmes and picture books, back my friend’s, Mickey Lin’s Kickstarter for a picture book on Baby Sherlock and cookie crumbs!

For more information on his Kickstarter, click here.

For more information on the Singapore Writers’ Festival, click here.

P/P/S – And now that it has been announced in public, here’s one of my most exciting pet projects – PULP TOAST / ROTI BAKAR. Click on the link to find out more about what we’re up to!

Pulp Toast Teaser #1

I’ll see you all next post!

Blanket Fortress Logo

Leave a Reply

