Joelyn's Book Bites

Book Bites: My STGCC Literary Loot

Book BitseIf there was something I was incredibly grateful for this Singapore Toys, Games, and Comics Convention (apart from my awesome friends), it’s the sheer amount of comic and literary loot I managed to get.

Books Actually's Comic Strip!
Books Actually’s Comic Strip!

Books Actually made its first appearance at STGCC this year with ‘The Comic Strip’, their booth featuring new releases of indie comic books by creators like Gene Whitlock, Wayne Ree and Stephanie Raphaela Ho among others. At the same time, Troy Chin’s newest instalment of ‘The Resident Tourist’ was available as well.

I’m already done reading ‘The Unsavory Alphabet’ by Gene, a light-hearted character art book which was incredibly hilarious and very noir either way. Stephanie’s ‘Fatman and Superchub’ is very entertaining as well – Raven bought a copy of stories featuring our favourite superheroes who pretty much don’t really care about what people think about their size. I picked up a copy of Wayne’s ‘Tales from a Tiny Room’ (a collection of stories of a parallel universe) and Troy Chin’s ‘The Resident Tourist, Part 6’ for the Tiger while I was there. To find out more about these books, check out Books Actually’s online store here.

Wayne surprised to see us there. Kinda.
Wayne surprised to see us there. Kinda.
Tales from a Tiny Room, by Wayne Ree
Tales from a Tiny Room, by Wayne Ree
Gene being awesome and drawing my couple of pups. LOL.
Gene being awesome and drawing my couple of pups. LOL.

The next stop was at Benjamin Chee’s booth, where he was selling his newly-published ‘Charsiew Space’, a comic book about a galaxy where the sale and consumption of pork was prohibited. He was sharing his booth with Ray Toh, and was just next to Jerry ‘Rex Regrets’ Teo, and Annuendo Annabella.

I finished ‘Charsiew Space’ over lunch one day and it definitely kept me well-entertained. The fast-moving plot had me turning pages, and the many puns and references had me laughing off my seat. I was really glad to find out that Benjamin actually sold out all his copies at STGCC itself. So if you would like to have a glimpse of ‘Charsiew Space’, catch him at Comic Fiesta or watch out for updates here.

And that concludes my literary loot for STGCC! Sure, there were many more books from the different booths and I hope there were people who managed to get to them as well. But until then, that’s all from me and I’ll see you all next post!

With our combined literary loot!
With our combined literary loot!

Blanket Fortress Logo

Leave a Reply

