Joelyn's Book Bites

Book Bites: My Writing Process – The Blog Tour

Book BitseSo I’ve got tagged. (Wow, it’s been a while since I’ve said that)

Firstly, many thanks go to Sean Wright a.k.a. Sean Bookonaut, who decided to pass the Blog Tour over to this corner of the Internet. Sean blogs about writers and speculative fiction in Australia and Asia Pacific and has recently decided to dabble into poetry. Currently living in South Australia, you can check out the stuff he does here and here.

What am I working on at the moment?

At present, I’m working on a couple of short stories that I’m hoping to submit to an anthology this weekend – one features an existential question we may ask ourselves, and the other is set in a dystopian future.

At the same time, I’ve been doing a post-mortem of some sorts with the mystery novel I wrote for Camp Nanowrimo in April 2014. I’ll be doing some planning and world building for another mystery-dystopian novel next year, and dabbling in a bit of game writing as the year progresses.

How do you think your work differs from that of other writers in your genre?

I actually have no idea.

I believe that every writer has their own voice and style, subtly shown through their work. Therefore, I would say that my work is different because of the different influences and experiences I have gone through (physically or in my head).

Why do you write what you do?

I write what I do because it allows me to live lives and go through experiences that seem to only happen in my head.

What’s your writing process, and how does it work?

It depends on what I’m working on. But generally speaking, I’m a planner, so I don’t usually go through writing sprints until I know what I’m supposed to be writing.

For short stories, I free write as much as I can for a session, until I manage to come up with something a bit more solid before I work on the story proper.

For novels or longer stories, I tend to plan it around the National Novel Writing Month. After a quick summary and chapter rundowns, I do Camp Nanowrimo in the first half of the year to do a “test run” of some sorts, before deciding if I am going to continue working on it or shelf it for the moment.

And like Sean did, here are a few other writers I hope the Writing Process Blog Tour will continue with:

Eeleen Lee
Elizabeth Tai
JY Yang
Loh Guan Liang
Sarah ColdheartBlanket Fortress Logo

Leave a Reply

