Updates

Weekend Mission: Playing with Guns

Actually, Air Rifles and Air Pistols, to be exact.

Mintea, Raven, Sarah, and myself headed to HomeTeamNS at Bukit Batok for a Charity Fun Shoot. The event was raising money for Aishah, a national shooter who had lost her limbs to a bacterial infection.

It was $20 per ticket – 10 shots (air pistols or air rifles), and you could keep your target card.

Entering at HomeTeamNS!
Entering at HomeTeamNS!
Both sides of the ticket we got!
Both sides of the ticket we got!

After getting our tickets, we went for the safety video, where we found out we could choose between using an air pistol or an air rifle. Mintea and Raven chose air rifles while Sarah and I took the air pistols. The range was fun, and they had people training with the national team helping out with your posture and all that jazz.

Aim... Photo courtesy of Sarah Coldheart.
Aim… Photo courtesy of Sarah Coldheart.
Fire! Photo Courtesy of Sarah Coldheart
Fire! Photo Courtesy of Sarah Coldheart
Not a very nice picture of me with the air pistol though. But yeah.
Not a very nice picture of me with the air pistol though. But yeah.
The Air Rifle line.
The Air Rifle line.
My scorecard! I think it's quite okay considering it to be my first attempt =)
My scorecard! I think it’s quite okay considering it to be my first attempt =)

Mintea’s and Raven’s scorecards had more clusters nearer the bullseye. According to the shooters, it was quite common for first time air rifle scores to be more clustered than air pistols. The air pistol I was holding was a bit heavier than I expected, since the only proper support you could get came mainly from your wrist and relaxed shoulders.

For myself, I found it easier to score while standing with straight arms, but that’s just me starting out. Another protip which I learnt though – shoot in between breaths, you don’t want your involuntary muscles to compromise your accuracy.

After which we got Aishah to autograph our cards. It was great to see how much support she was getting as well.

Aishah signing my score card.
Aishah signing my score card.
Group shot with Aishah! Photo courtesy of Sarah Coldheart.
Group shot with Aishah! Photo courtesy of Sarah Coldheart.

And as I leave you with this post, I’ll just say what I said to Sarah when she went, “It’s only 10 shots!”

The pleasure of the shot comes not from the amount of ammo, but from the sensation that comes with your precision.

Blanket Fortress Logo

 

Leave a Reply

