Next-in-Reading

Next-in-Reading: Review of Rider by Joyce Chng

Next In Reading

I finally got down to reading Rider by Joyce Chng properly and I must say I really like it.

Here’s my review from Goodreads:

What worked really well for me was this… The story has many visual aspects, where you can see the scenes coming alive in front of you. This whole new world is built rather well, and the flow of the story is smooth.

However, I think what stood out the most was the message left within the story itself – the inner struggles of sibling rivalry, of passion vs. talent, of creating instead of finding life, coupled with the outer struggles of nature and humanity. As entertaining as genre fiction should be, messages found and brought forward enhance its quality regardless.

What would have worked better would be another proof. Language is generally clear though there were a few switching possessive adjectives (I, Her etc…) which made certain lines slightly confusing and a little bit of formatting work though I credit that to the Smashwords formatting system.

Also, there were times (mostly in the beginning) where Lifang’s struggle and envy just turned into plain whining after a while. It could have been used to portray her stubbornness, though I felt there could be other ways apart from just internal anger.

Despite all that I really love this world that Joyce has created. Makes me wonder which section I’d be suited for in this world. A Reader, perhaps?

3.5/5 stars

Rider is available on Amazon and Smashwords.

Blanket Fortress Logo

 

Leave a Reply

