BEDA

BEDA #25: Practical Things

I quote Nigella Lawson, who said, “I don’t know, it’s the only practical thing I can do” on her first episode of Nigella Express, answering her son’s question – “Why do you cook?”

And because I’ve been known to think too far for my own good, I started thinking – why do I do what I do and why do I want to do what I want to do in the future? Makes sense?

As I thought about the answer to that question, the only thing that I came up was Nigella’s line.

It’s the only practical thing I can do.

I write to live lives I know I will never get to live. But I guess the other, probably more practical thing I can do in my life, is to study.

The things that never left me while I was in school remain the same – literature, theatre, debate; The eloquence of speech and debate, the beauty of theatre and drama, and the analytics of fiction and literature. I would say, however, the combined factors of these three aspects have been pushing me to enter a certain field – Academia.

Which led to my question: “Okay, who’s going to go, “WHAT?!” if I became Dr. Joelyn Alexandra?” on Twitter.

I guess it’s probably the only practical thing I can think of doing and like the idea of doing well. We’ll see how things go.

Blanket Fortress Logo

 

Leave a Reply

