BEDA

BEDA #5: Inaugural Lesson

Looking back, I believe that there were numerous signs pointing me to teaching – the first time I went back to work in a school library, my family (veteran teacher aunt, support for the teaching industry), and perhaps, the constant reminders that a shift in our Arts Education will do us all good.

So I thought – Since I have been having this inaugural lesson of the year plan in my head for a while, I might as well just get it out of my system.

I’d call this first lesson, “The Meeting”. Simply because it’s what it is; and since I have a better connection with the subjects of English and English Literature, I’m going to craft it in such a way.

Every student has a latent ability that is manifested through expression. In my case – writing; and that is something educators should work with.

Education is not just about grades and GPA, it shouldn’t be. Instead, it should also be about inculcating skills that serve as the foundation to further practical studies, and develop to social, soft skills.

Students should go through education with a thirst for discovery, learning, exploration, creativity, and knowledge. And both Educators and Education Managers have a great part to play in giving them that environment. So instead of spending just 10 minutes introducing each other, this is going to give me a deeper understanding of a student’s learning techniques.

Actually at the moment a lot of what I’ve mentioned above come from experience at the moment. Think of when you were a student – what could get you to learn and read and what couldn’t? There are still a lot of similarities on the deeper end.

And I believe that even though curriculum is very important, I feel that the first lesson should be utilised to its fullest. Students will develop over time and educators will have to pick up from that – the biggest difference you can make is how the development will seem as compared to the foundation you got from the first instance.

Hence, this lesson will probably be carried out on school grounds, probably out of the classroom. English and English Literature can be very flexible topics and there will be many ways to keep your students engaged so what about challenging their minds by taking them out of the classroom and getting them to do the most basic activity they’ll need for such classes?

Write.

In any form they want.

I’ve been the student in this equation before and I can tell you, it works. It sparks excitement and creativity because it’s something different. Mostly important, the different styles can help you determine the routes in which each student is taking in their learning. I’m sure my lecturer had something different to read with each piece from that exercise anyway.

And after this “first lesson of the year”, then maybe you could get down and start your planning on how you would like to go about with this class. Curriculum and your grades are important, but understanding learning techniques and ensuring that the skills you’re trying to teach stay with them (without them having a nervous breakdown) will enhance both theirs and your learning journeys.

Many educators who have inspired me did one thing very well – Balance. They balanced the need to show measurable results if needed as well as the need to develop important life skills through the most organic way possible.

And with that, I shall close this post. See you all tomorrow!

Blanket Fortress Logo

 

Leave a Reply

