Joelyn's Book Bites

Book Bites: SWF 09 Pre Events: Wena Poon Book Discussion

Book Bitse

Who: Wena Poon & Sharon Bakar
Where: The Play Den @ The Arts House
When: 22nd May 2009, 7 to 9 pm
With: Sarah Coldheart & Raven Silvers

I so love Wena Poon.

After going through that talk, that is. Sarah and I were there first, people who never RSVP-ed. HAHA. It was initially supposed to be in earshot Cafe but response was overwhelming enough, methinks. No complaints, the place where the discussion was held was awesome. Raven Silvers came in slightly later, drinking her dinner. In the nick o’ time before the discussion about to take place later.

The talk was utterly great. Mostly because of the fact that Wena hit every point in my head about International Publishing in my head. People might argue that whatever was covered (something along the lines of Writing as an Art, the Art as a Business) to be an utter sellout, betrayal of the art or worse, totally untouched by the roots of ourselves. But let me tell you, it’s a fact we’re living in.

When you go into a bookstore, what are the first titles you see?

I don’t have to answer it for you to get my gist. No matter how much a book is great in literary terms or content or whatever compliment you can pay to it. It’s still a fact that it’s business. Now while I agree that artistic integrity comes into play, the people who condemn your choice of what you want to do in life are right for once.

“There’s no money in art!”

Sound familiar? I’d like to prove that wrong. Seriously speaking. But you need a way to go about it or you’re sunk. I remember watching an interview (5th Dimension) of Jason Isaacs and his reference from Sir Ian McKellen regarding the whole move from Theatre to Film.

“… you see I’m theatrical, a star, everyone knows who I am. I’ve a fabulous career. Broke, as a church mouse. ” – Jason Isaacs impersonating Sir Ian MacKellen (very well indeed if you ask me)

And as Wena was going through the slides and stuff, that line was on repeat every single minute of the way. We are not as great as we think we are, I realised. I meant in terms of identity and stuff. Doesn’t help when you have overly busy agents, publishers stopping the entrance of manuscripts or worse, your money or rights siphoned or whatever because well, you have to do the marketing of things on your own.

That aside, we still managed to do a bit of talking and chatting here and there. Silvers and Sarah got autographs. I decided to get the omnibus of Biophilia anyways. Turns out we’re all in Wena’s books. The Ravens and The Sarah. AHA.

I’d say, if the entire HSWG was there, it would have been a riot. Or a party. Either one. HAH.

Blanket Fortress Logo

One thought on “Book Bites: SWF 09 Pre Events: Wena Poon Book Discussion

Leave a Reply

